top of page

2020 Key West Film Festival Delivers an A-List Jury

The Key West Film Festival — where passion meets paradise — is an annual celebration of contemporary cinema in a historically rich, artistically vibrant, and culturally diverse island community. The KWFF showcases the best of Florida filmmaking, while highlighting visiting filmmakers and industry leaders.

KWFF 2020 assembled a revered group of industry leaders and artists to judge the 9th edition of the festival. The 2020 Short Film Jury include: Sundance Film Festival Programming Associate April Wright, Straight Outta Compton Producer Bill Straus, NPR’s Wait, Wait Don't Tell Me regular Helen Hong, Late Night with Seth Meyers Associate Producer Amanda Cowper, Star Trek: Discovery Actor Anson Mount, Omeleto Head of Programming Kat Ascharya, Private Practice Screenwriter Moira McMahon Leeper, Toronto Short Film Festival Founder Steve Veale, and Sommer Austin of AMAW Chicago and Second City Chicago.

Florida industry leaders on the jury include Florida Keys and Key West Film Commissioner Chad Newman, Florida Filmmaker and Professor at Ringling College of Art and Design Mark Schimmel, and Executive Director of the Key West Arts Council, Elizabeth Young.

The 10 KWFF awards, which include Best World Dramatic Short Film, Best Florida Short Film, and the inaugural Kimberly Peirce Student Filmmaker Scholarship, were announced during the Awards Ceremony on Sunday, November 22nd. A full list of deserving honorees can be seen at


bottom of page